What the heck is wrong with my 2NP DWPS?

I have this passage in something I’m writing that ends with some 2NP stuff starting on a downstroke, which would lead me to believe that DWPS would be the right move, but for some reason it seems to trip me up so much. This is my first time uploading a video, so also let me know what I can do to improve that. I initially tried with slow motion, but it wasn’t possible with the front-facing camera (giving me trouble with finding the correct angle), nor did it have audio.

1 Like

Its hard to tell, but this looks like it might be string hopping to me. It seems like your upstrokes are escaping when you’re going slow, so your hand may still be trying to do it as you increase speed. Have you tried using rest strokes?

Thanks for posting! This is not dwps - it’s crosspicking. Specifically, it looks like the supinated approach we outlined in yesterday’s broadcast. Looks pretty good too. It seems like this might be a case of not really knowing what movement you’re making, which is why when you speed up you don’t really know what movement you’re shooting for, hence the mess when it becomes whatever it wants to become. You should either be making a crosspicking movement, or a pickslanting movement, consciously, and it should not change based on the speed you’re traveling.

The moderate speed stuff looks good though. Honestly, I recommend watching the broadcast - it’s rendering now and should be up on the platform tomorrow. I think you’ll recognize your technique, and maybe this will give you some ideas on how to harness it consciously to do cool things. If you’d like to add a pickslanting movement in addition, then that broadcast has some very solid fundamentals on wrist movement which I think will clarify a lot of things. That, and the intro to picking motion talk - both in “Talking the Code” under, “Channels”, would be a good start.

1 Like

Yes, ditto of what troy said.