What's my picking motion?

Hi all,

I’m pretty new to this world and I must say I don’t really know where my picking motion fits and what I should do to improve.

Ultimately, I want to be able to get better (read: more nimble) and avoid poor habits before it’s too late. (Note: it goes without saying that avoiding injury comes first).

Here are a few videos at different speeds for you to give me an idea of where I am and what I should work on.

1. A fast chop with tremolo and hybrid picking (sloppy play)
  1. The “intimidation lick” (learning for finger dexterity) played at two different speeds (very sloppy):

Bonus: pentatonic lick a user uploaded a couple of days ago

Thanks in advance for your help. I apologise for the low-quality videos but it should be okay to get a general idea of my picking motion.
JLL

1 Like

I’ll take a better look soon, but my first quick impression is that you have a setup similar to Gary Moore - do you think the same? :slight_smile:

To be frank, I’m very new to paying so much attention to my right hand!

Looking at that I reckon it all comes down to trying to mute unwanted string noise. My set-up may possibly come from that more than any conscious effort.

Looking forward to hearing your thoughts.

1 Like

Ok, second impression is similar to the first: I suspect your main picking motion is DSX (downstroke escape). This would allow you to change strings after downstrokes with great ease - and I believe it was Gary Moore’s main picking motion as well.

You can test this easily by playing something like this (3 notes on lowest string, 6 notes on each subsequent string):

-------------------- etc.
--------5-6-7-5-6-7-
-5-6-7--------------

Do the string changes feel effortless? Do you feel like you can speed up this lick without changing any motions in your right hand?

More generally, here is a good read for all things related to motion :slight_smile:

Thanks a lot for your insight tommo.