What's wrong with my picking?

Hi everyone,

My name is Rob and I’m new to the forum. I have been playing the guitar for fifteen years now and picking has always been my biggest weak point. This is my first post on this page, but I’ve been familiar with the Cracking the Code concepts since I first stumbled upon Troy’s Youtube channel seven or eight years ago. About a year ago I finally decided to make an account and work though the Pickslanting Primer. This helped me a lot to gain more insight and theoretical knowledge about picking, but I have trouble applying that to my playing.

This has also made me a bit hesitant to ask for help. I do understand how the different picking forms are supposed to work. I am also aware of the importance of finding a balance between the pickslant, motion path and picking pattern. Unfortunately, I just don’t know how to make those things work for me. For the last seven or eight years I feel like I tried everything. I have tried using different grips (side, angle pad, pad, middle finger), making different movements (fingers, wrist, forearm, elbow), changing my sitting position, use more supination, use less supination, changing the amount of edge picking, et cetera. It’s like I have all the pieces of the puzzle, but I can’t piece any of them together. Hopefully the forum can provide some help with this.