Which secondary motion?

Hi CtC experts. I have been playing for 20 years and started to really focus on the learnings from the picking primer recently. My primary motion is rotation/wrist combination which I am feeling pretty comfortable with. I can play lots of Yngwie style licks which feel comfortable also. I was wondering what DSX motion would best compliment my wrist/rotation motion for rock licks that require a mix of both escapes? Who here uses wrist/rotation as a primary motion and what do you use for a helper/secondary motion. Just so I know with my setup which secondary motion would be most accessible so I can start tremolo practice and then go from there.
Thanks in advance :+1::guitar::fire:

I play forearm and wrist. I don’t tend to do string changes where a downstroke is the last note on a string when descending, as I’d have to flip my forearm to be able to do so.
To me it feels cumbersome and it’s very unreliable accuracy wise, for me at least. A sneaky pull off or refingering is what I’d do. Ascending downstrokes can be swept which is handy!

1 Like

I actually don’t know the accepted answer to this. Who do we see with a USX forearm/wrist blend that does mixed escapes? It could be that I’m not thinking of the right primary motion since there are a few wrist forearm blends. Are we talking gypsy style? That is where my brain went and I can’t think of anyone in that setup that does mixed escape. I’d bet thumb/index-finger would be a candidate though

1 Like

I also would like to know this just so I have a ballpark idea of what to aim for! I can do it in my own playing but it doesn’t feel particularly comfortable yet :thinking:

Inside picking feels more like I use a larger bit of forearm rotation on the downstroke. Outside picking I don’t think I do that well, feels like a mix of forearm rotation, wrist flexion and maybe thumb motion but I probably miss the upstroke 35% of the time and it feels a bit harder to do.