Which slant should I pursue based on music style and current experience

I’m new to Cracking the Code and I’m starting with the Pick Slanting primer. I’ve been playing for 36 years but I"m now focused on taking a technique leap. I have bad habits to break so I am aware that things are going to feel weird and uncomfortable. I have been approaching this by just going through each video and working on whatever comes first. In this case it’s the Yngwie Module. I play improvisational jam type of music and I have a background in jazz so I’ve not been focused on patterns and I do not play metal or Yngwie type stuff at all. I am trying to create melodies and lines in a variety of styles from jazz to blues to country, bluegrass etc. I find that I am much faster with UWPS than I am with DWPS but I’m not used to thinking about things in the number of notes per string in order to keep the same slant throughout at all but I definitely see the benefits of doing so. My mind is starting to shift in that direction and I"ve had noticeable improvement in speed and cleanliness already. My question is whether I should continue to follow the approach I have been…Going from module to module in order it’s presented…or if I should perhaps focus on UWPS since I"m already faster and it feels more natural or if perhaps I should look at Crosspicking and start there since it may be more applicable to the type of music I play. THoughts?

1 Like

2-Way Pick Slanting / 2WPS [Antigravity] is really applicable in all style genres and many common technical approaches like Petrucci, Michael Romeo, Vinnie Moore, Vai. This is most efficient in string skipping (in scale + arpeggio playing), cross-picking, and very articulated speed scales. Many players in Rock, Metal, Jazz, and Country use this technique.