While gathering chops, should we be using ONE guitar?

If this has been asked before then I apologise!

obviously there is a difference in feel and hand positioning when switching between different guitar types, something I’m sure most or all of us are used to, but what is the consensus on switching guitars while actually getting the basics down?

to be clear, I’m not a novice, but I am trying to taking my picking to the next level, like all of you(!), and sometimes I wonder if I should just practice high-level picking techniques on one type of guitar, instead of switching daily between strats, my tele, my RG and my PRS.

sometimes I get a bit stuck and wonder if it is the small change in hand positioning which is the culprit. I see Troy apparently playing any random guitar at 110%, so I know it should eventually be less of a problem, but what about in the earlier stages?

any thoughts?

3 Likes
2 Likes

I’m not a professional; I had a bunch of guitars I got rid of for various reasons, they were all boutique etc. After I found the YJM, I couldn’t be bothered with any case beauties; this one guitar took over my life, now I’m just going to get more of them with different pickups and configurations. After a year of playing just this one YJM exclusively, tried a non-scalloped Kotzen Signature tele the other day, didn’t go down well, to say the least,

Could be a good or bad thing, depends. For me it’s keeping things simple and consistent, my GAS is now limited to one species of guitar :smiley:

2 Likes

look at it this way. 6 months of focused practice can totally revolutionize your picking…you can stand to play just one guitar for that long lol

Jon you make a point. I’m thinking about Jim Clark, he reaced anything he could get into :grin:

Hi StratRG,

from my experience I would say yes, change them.