Working on Two Way Pickslanting - Whilst building speed, struggle to maintain clean playing. Any feedback appreciated!

Hey everyone, I’m pretty new to this forum though I have been lurking here for a bit and following all the content on Youtube for some time. I’ve been playing guitar for 18 months and fortunately discovered the pickslanting content really early into my playing so I’ve tried to make it the way I pick everything. I find that I naturally default to an upward pickslant after practicing the technique.

Here I’m using the 4 note Paul Gilbert lick, trying to build speed whilst maintaining two way pickslanting that’s clean. However, the 4th note upstroke is a problem and I find myself swiping through the adjacent string rather than gliding over it. Though swiping is perfectly fine and done by many amazing players, including Paul Gilbert, the sound isn’t clean enough to my ears. I wanted to share it with you guys and see if you can provide any feedback to point out points of improvement.

I intentionally exaggerate some of the motions in an attempt to display what I’m trying to do, though once I think my main problem seems to be making the pickslanting motions smaller. Though I don’t feel tense, it’s as if I’m tensing up when playing faster and my wrist doesn’t rotate in the same fashion. Apologies for the rogue camera setup and poor camera angles, I’ll get my hands on a Magnet (and Masters of Mechanics!) when I can afford it, though I hope what’s there is sufficient.

Many thanks and hope you all have a lovely day, wherever you are. Peace from the UK <3

1 Like

Hey @Formless95 welcome!

Two quick comments:

1. we changed the terminology a bit to make it less confusing. Instead of two-way pickslanting we now prefer to talk about primary and secondary motion. Check this free resource out :slight_smile: