World's Slowest Picker

I’m a career beginner with the guitar. I bought my guitar a little over 20 years ago and have been playing it on and off since then. I’m on one of my longer stretches right now, having practiced almost daily for the past year. However, an old frustration brought me to this site…slowness. I saw Troy’s YouTube video about starting at a fast speed and was hopeful that I might be able to glean something from this site.

I just did some testing with a metronome to give myself a gauge of where I’m at. I can currently pick individual 8th notes at 140 bpm before things start to fall off the rails. I honestly spend most of my time strumming chords, but I am similarly slow in that arena. I have had a veteran guitar player friend tell me that I am a lot of time and effort away from any reasonable amount of speed. I’m hoping that there’s some mechanical adjustment that I can make to help me get into a reasonable range of speed. I’m not even looking for a level of speed on par with the true masters. I would be quite happy to play 16th notes at the speed of an average pop or rock song.

I’ve started looking over the material and experimenting, but nothing has clicked yet. With that said, it’s still early (a few days in). Hopefully I will find some hidden gems in there that will help me get over the hump. I do think that I am a heavy user of string hopping after watching some of the early videos.

5 Likes

Welcome, thanks for joining! Glad you found our site, and hope it’s helpful as you continue to experiment with the motions :slight_smile:

I’m guessing you can move your hand a LOT faster than that — sounds like you watched that “starting with speed” video (also in the wrist motion section of the Primer). Another thing to try would be what Troy calls the “table tap test” to gauge your raw speed.

Also a number of good discussions if you search on the forum, for example: