Writing music with consistent feel (maybe not the right word)

Hello All,

I’ve been playing guitar for about 20 years now and one thing that I’ve never been able to improve is my writing ability. 99% of the time I come up with something on the guitar that I like, it’s a one off that I can’t expand on. I have written the occasional complete song, but in 20 years, I can count those on one hand. It’s really a big part of the reason I don’t play much these days.

Sometime last year, I dedicated a lot of hours trying to expand on two particular pieces that are each 20-30 seconds long and that I’m very fond of. However, after all that time (at least 15+ hours each), I couldn’t add a single note to either piece that sounded/felt right. I read through this other forum post that seems to be in the same vein but nothing really clicked or was new to me. My problem isn’t necessarily writing more to the piece, but writing more that works. Like, I could play the same thing on different frets (changing some fingering to make it work) but it wouldn’t mesh together. I could add almost random notes that don’t necessarily sound bad… but again, it wouldn’t mesh and doesn’t lead to anything else that has the same sound/feel without just returning to the same melody.

I’m not sure it matters but some of my favorite things to play are Midsummer’s Daydream and A Minor Prelude by Rik Emmett. They flow together nicely but they’re not like a lot of music where vocals go over the top and it’s a plainly structured verse-chorus-bridge-etc.

For reference, here is one of those pieces that I’d like to expand on. I’m hoping there’s some aspect of music theory I can learn and exploit because trying to expand on it by ear/feel/random experimentation just doesn’t cut it for me.

Any advice will be greatly appreciated,
Josh