Yngwie and Crosspicking, As Above So Below

Hi everybody.
I started practicing the arpeggio section right before the solo from Yngwie’s tune As Above So Below.
I noticed that the 16th note minor and diminished arpeggio’s cannot be played using DWPS only, some notes require rotation/cross picking. Here’s a small section. I found 2 ways to pick this arpeggios: one is starting on an upstroke, the other using the downstroke. The second note is always a pull-off. Either way, some rotation is needed to get from the G string back to the E string. I found more comfortable to start with the downstroke.
What do you think? How is Yngwie playing these arpeggios?

U   U D  U   U D  U    U  D
 D   D U  D   D U  D    D  U

E----5-2------8-5------11-8-------------------------------------------
B--------4--------7---------10----------------------------------------
G----------5--------8----------11-------------------------------------
D---------------------------------------------------------------------
A---------------------------------------------------------------------
E---------------------------------------------------------------------

2 Likes

@Rockdeveloper
how i play this is:
Down (with pull-off) Up Up, Down (with pull-off) Up Up, Down (with pull-off) Up Up
using only UWPS although I am a DWPS mainly :slight_smile:

Hey! I’m practicing this part too. The way I do the last arpeggio is:

Down (dwps) pull-off, up and down, then sweeping on the two strings to get back to one repetition.

I know this is not what Yngwie does, but I Find sweeping this part far less (even not at all) tricky than crosspicking. I’ll work on it but for now I’m doing it this way.

Nice! Being a DWPS, I didn’t considered UWPS yet:slight_smile:

Yep, that’s how I started too, then I begin to experiment to see what are the other options I might found for playing this. Still not sure what fits best:slight_smile:

This is totally doable with all DWPS.