Yngwie sixes - flooring it (16th note triplets at 90bpm)

Hi all,

Here I want to share my first video. It’s been a while since the last time I recorded myself so I must admit that the camera is still very intimidating. :sweat_smile:

In this video I am playing the well-known Yngwie sixes pattern in D minor, and trying to “floor it” i.e. pushing myself a little beyond the speed limit at which I can usually play a “fast” line comfortably. The tempo is set at 90bpm.

Please feel free to share your observations regarding my picking movement (DWPS) and any tips/exercises to improve my hand synchronization. For context, please consider that I’ve been working on the Pick Slanting Primer for a couple months and was completely frustrated by string hopping before that. Moving between strings seemed incredibly difficult until I found this site. :slight_smile:

Also, what do you think about the tone? I have the feeling like I am picking too hard, but please let me know what you think.

1 Like

Hey man!

First thing I noticed was that especially on the lower strings, you tend to shift into a downwards escape motion, which is resulting in a lack of efficiency in string switching for a pattern like this. It’s a super common habit, I see it in my guitar students regularly. I believe it stems from not string tracking properly when moving from the high E towards the low E. Paul Gilbert describes his string tracking motion like sawing a piece of wood, and that it stems from his shoulder.

I’d suggest practicing a bit on the lower strings and doing licks that switch back and forth between two strings, like lick Yngwie does in Jet to Jet.

1 Like

Hi BalckInMind,

Thanks a lot for that! I hadn’t even noticed before, so I will keep an eye on my string tracking. and my picking motion itself.