Yngwie Style Circular Lick, Sixes and The Paul Gilbert Lick On my 88 Fender HM Strat

Hello!

I thought I would share a little clip I did with my old 1988 Fender HM Strat. I hadn’t played it in years and thought it would be fun to plug it in and shred a little. I started playing some licks I used to play years ago like this little Yngwie influenced circular lick inspired by his playing in the Alcatrazz days. I forgot all about this lick, but it is fun to play! I also brought back the “Paul Gilbert” lick that used to play all the time in the 80s. It was one of the first fast picking things I learned when I was taking lessons in the early 80s. My teacher showed it to me. He learned it from the old 70s Al Di Meola records. It was fun playing these licks again. :slightly_smiling_face:

9 Likes

I have one of those HM strats from 88 with the dimarzio super distortion In the bridge. LOVE that guitar. Will never sell it

1 Like

Not even if I offer to pay you

@Bill_hall killer playing as usual!

I’m curious, on your sextuplet phrases, is there a minimum bpm you target? I feel like there’s this threshold of around 120 - 125 bpm, where if you’re at or above that you’re really in the “shred zone”. You’re definitely there :metal: :metal: :metal: I can get there on my good days but I think my pre-Troy max was more in the 110 - 115 range and that’s just not as cool sounding lol! I find myself sort of defaulting to that range and have to spot check myself with a metronome to find out I’m not quite as fast as I’d like to be.

2 Likes