AI and you're music posted online

HIya,

I’m a freelance a Graphic artist as well as a musician.

I found out about a couple of weeks ago that any art I put up on Instagram and/or Facebook gets used to Train AI.

Get this out of the way first: The word “Trained” is a misnomer. It gives the impression that Music and music theory was programmed into it and It “learned” how to make music.

That’s not what it does:

In reality it scours the internet looking for whatever matches the command you put in your prompt and scrapes it up - takes it and AI just pretty much puts it back together in whatever way the person giving it the prompt wants.

The results.

Musician reacts to AI-generated Gypsy Jazz

RIGHT NOW IT IS ILLEGAL TO PROFIT FROM ANY ARTWORK CREATED BY AI. YOU CANT MONETIZE IT. I DON’T KNOW IF IT EXTENDS TO MUSIC CREATED BY AI. That’s the only protection that I am aware of.

Your work was taken and is still being taken without your knowledge and without your consent. it’s not just creative stuff either, it’s any pic ( of your dog or family etc) , videos for AI generated video (vacation vids you may make or someones prom) , and writing you post on the internet.

There is an “opt - out” on Facebook/Instagram I believe but it’s not a guarantee. They decide whether they will or not so it’s kind of a joke.

I think more musicians should be aware of this. I hope it doesn’t depress anybody.

2 Likes

For me I’m ok with anything I do being used to train AI, as it will happen anyway. No matter what I think, I just want it to happen faster. The two things I’ve put most effort into, graphics and music, are so easy for an AI to replicate that I can’t compete. Mine might be more human, but we all know the big companies don’t care if it still makes money.

I’d rather just go into this new world while I’m still young.

I can’t believe I’m one of three people who feels this way.