Any good alternatives to Elixir strings?

I have been using elixirs for the past 5 years or so. I love the way they feel and sound (they basically never get rusty, they can sound roughly the same after months!) - but I noticed that they can break fairly easily when you bend them. I am pretty much constantly replacing my high E string!

Does anyone know of other brands that have the same anti-rust capabilities while being more resistant to bending?

I’ve tried them all over the last 10 years or so. I haven’t found anything that lasts even half as long as Elixirs. It’s interesting that you break them so often, I’ve actually had the opposite experience. I switched to Ernie Ball strings for a couple of months last year just to try them out. I broke E and B strings constantly. Switched back to Elixirs, no more broken strings.

As a side note, despite the Ernie Ball strings being WAY less expensive, because they broke or died so much faster, over the couple of months I used them, I actually spent more money on the Ernie Ball strings than I would have on Elixirs.

1 Like

@tommo I hope this doesn’t come across as audacious since you’re an actual scientists and I’m…way less smart than a scientist :slight_smile: Are you convinced it’s the string and not the guitar? For example, guitar A has elixers and the string breaks.

• You then replace the broken string with a cheap non-elixer replacement.
    • String is fine and doesn’t break anymore
  • Time to change strings, new full set of elixers
  • String breaks

Or is it more like

• guitar A has elixers and strings break
  • guitar B has ‘normal’ strings and they don’t break

Also, is the string always breaking at the same place? I’ve had this happen in the past and it was due to a rough spot in the hole where the string goes through the post. Just want to make sure we have the right culprit!

3 Likes