Bridge Lean vs Neck Lean. Does it matter?

One thing that was never brought to my attention until recently is “lean”. I use no lean or neck lean.

I’ve found out that Teemu does the exact opposite. Bridge lean. And I think @Troy uses bridge lean also. The pick is more stable with bridge lean. With my neck lean approach, the pick rocks on my index a little bit. This causes a laggy pick snag if I am playing something with vigor.

I am trying to decide if it is worth learning how to pick all over again using bridge lean. Pick is more stable but it’s totally alien feeling when I pick that way.

Who uses neck lean here? Is that another bad habit I have from being self taught? Or is it common?

:bear:

1 Like

As per this thread:

…lean is only necessary if there’s a pickslant. What it does is help smooth out the pickstroke opposite the slant, to reduce the ‘garage spikes’ issue where the pick digs under the string. However there is a subtlety. Simply spinning the pick in your grip so that it points on an angle, like George Lynch used to do, is not lean. Leaning the whole arm/hand is lean. In this respect I don’t think anyone can really be a “headstock lean” player unless they actually pronate their whole arm and lean it toward the headstock.

So!

Bridge lean is for downward pickslanting grips specifically. To get the smoothness benefit of lean, at least the way I do this, the pick has to stick out from your grip at 90 degrees. Then rest the side of the palm on the bridge, or use Gypsy type arrangement. The upstroke contact will ride the trailing edge of the pick and not grab.

2 Likes

…actually, I can see how this can happen if someone uses a Gypsy style approach with a lot of wrist flex. That could cause the whole grip to point toward the headstock. However in my test of this just now, the upstrokes tend to clip, again due to garage spikes. So in this setup, lean isn’t helping.