Can we build a double escape wrist motion training device?

First, let me just say that Cracking the Code has already done wonders for my technique – so much so that I’m hesitant to write a post like this. That said, and like many others here, I’ve struggled to get my double escape motions happening. Troy and team have done an amazing job explaining how it all works, but absent an in-person instructor, I’m finding it a challenge to correctly apply the guidance. I’m a digital UX designer by trade and no more than a tinkerer on the mechanical side of things, but we must have some mechanical engineers out there in the CTC community who may be able to design/model some kind of apparatus that would limit the wrist to 902 (for supinators) and 1003 (for pronators) movements. I have a 3d printer and would love to collaborate on prototyping/testing something like this if there’s any interest.

3 Likes

Not a device, but I came up with this and has helped a ton:

2 Likes

It would be really cool to have a guide to follow like in the usx and dsx sections of the primer.
I really struggle with dbx, haven’t been able to get it going at all, so I’ve abandoned practicing it, for now at least.

This is really cool – I’ll give them a shot tonight and see if it help with double escapes. Thanks for the link!

1 Like

This reminds me of the trend of mechanical devices in the 19th century that limited the range of motion of the fingers for the dubious purpose of “developing finger strength and independence”, but mostly were torture devices that actually crippled their users. Notably, Robert Schumann lost the use of his left hand through using such a device, and was unable to pursue a career as a pianist.

2 Likes

The image caught my eye before your post text. “Torture device” was the first thing that came to my mind too lol!

I remember hearing about this in college (I was a music composition major). Certainly a cautionary tale!

2 Likes