Disciplined practice "routine" vs intuitive jamming etc

Im always torn between these 2 basic approaches. Ive been playing for 30 years this year and except for maybe ONE time where I did a “30 day challenge”, I have yet to ever develop anything resembling a “routine”

Yet im still torn.

I go thru this type of thing over and over:

1. see an idea in a vid or hear it in a song
  2. think ‘wow, id love to have that under my fingers’
  3. decide to work out an exercise or routine for it
  4. 3 hrs of random jamming later I am no closer to having a “routine” lol

is this semi normal??

I can say im pretty good but of course after 30 years I SHOULD be. But I dunno that anything I do would blow anyone away.

So should I keep moving along intuitively OR use a more disciplined approach and aim for some techniques a bit out of my reach (fast 2nps penta stuff or maybe fast sweep arpeggios) and start them slowly with correct mechanics etc etc

the fear is always sort of “well if I strictly practice this one exercise, wont I be losing my abilities on these other ones??”

any ideas??

Thanks, JJ

2 Likes

Most likely a very common struggle.

I’m guilty of the opposite.

I spend the bulk of my time on focused practice in a few areas including technique and theory.
Hopefully combined.

Once I get that done I just noodle a bit and because Im very warmed up by then, fingers and creativity are good

I use to be the opposite and got tired of wishing I could sweep etc and just bit the bullet and spent time focusing on it.

This approach for me is great as My skill constantly improved which directly correlates to my playing.

However there are the guys who never played a scale and can play circles around me so I cant say what is right for you.

But I see me in your post so all I can say for sure is I don’t regret focusing my practice.

Its a weird thing in that I spend a lot of time starting from scratch and stressed/questioning my existence. Lol

But I think it starts with a goal.