"Glass Prison"-arpeggios at 125-130bpm...and my 2cts on what to do when crosspicking is a nightmare

Hello guys,

I made these videos because I got a couple of requests from forum members to play some alternately picked/crosspicked arpeggio forms and to offer some tips on crosspicking.

I have always been a “neutral-slanter”/“crosspicker” myself and before I discovered CTC I thought everybody more or less played the same way I did. When I started out I viewed the guitar-string-plane as a symmetric plane, and I thought that the pick should always be at a 90 degree angle in relation to the plane of the strings and also with virtually no edge-picking. I was aware of other techniques, but I didn’t know how to execute them correctly. For example, I’ve been playing guitar for 25 years and I never had sweep-picked anything until I saw it on YT a couple of years ago. Go figure :stuck_out_tongue:

I came to CTC to improve on my speed, because I wondered how it was possible that I couldn’t play certain things with alternate picking, although it appeared that these pieces were alternately picked and that I SHOULD be able to do them if I practiced enough.

Then I found out that many players here were DWPS and UWPS or economy/hybrid pickers and that crosspicking/alternate picking was relatively rare.

I also came across many posts where players were banging their heads against the wall about not being able to either understand the mechanics of crosspicking or perform crosspicking. Troy has devoted different posts and videos on the subject, but I still feel that for many people the movement or how to practice it is not completely clear.

I decided therefor to explain the things that have helped me in improving my alternate picking so that it potentially can help other players (especially players that have never crosspicked before).

First a few clarifications: