Guys, I need serious help

I’ve been a member here for a while but haven’t logged in or posted much lately.
Here is the problem. I’ve been playing for 30 years and I’m a reasonably good guitar player. I’ve played in many bands over the years… both cover and original (early on). When i discovered CTC i thought it would unlock a lot of the issues i have had over the years. Like many of you I began playing in the late 80’s and love the shred style but could never conquer it.
I took lessons from a Berklee guy but his teaching style just didn’t click with my learning style. I’m currently taking lessons from a guy that has taught me a ton of new material but he isn’t a shred guy, so the things discussed here aren’t really thing we do in our lessons. And that’s ok with me. I don’t want to spend lesson time on these things as i can work on them on my own.
the problem is that i feel like i have so many aspects of my playing to work on that i am overwhelmed.
I’ve been working on the Yngwie 6 note pattern and the Gilbert 6 note ascending/descending thing for months and I still suck at it.
Last time i logged in a few weeks ago i was blown away at the progress that Tommo has made in the last few months. I follow Jake Estner on IG and i can’t even comprehend his level of playing. Add to all this that my cover band had a very mediocre gig recently ( well, I had a mediocre gig) and my confidence is shot.

I know i need to make a practice schedule but i don’t know where to begin.
I am having trouble finding inspiration in anything and I really feel like giving up sometimes.
I don’t really know what i am asking of you guys here but i don’t know how to get over this hurdle. I have been stagnant for a long time now it seems.
there are a few clips of me playing crappy here on the forum if anyone cares to seek them out.
Any insights here from anyone?

1 Like

Now that i have looked back at my old threads I remember that i deleted the vids…

1 Like