Hand synchronisation problem

I have been working on my picking technique for a couple of years now and have made a lot of progress largely down to this site. The biggest problem I seem to have is synchronisation between my right and left hand when I try and go above 140bpm 16th notes. I can smoothly and consistently play tremelo at quite high speeds but it falls apart when I’m picking individual notes. How long does it usually take to lock in your hands? I’m starting to think I havent got enough natural rhythm to get the feel of a pattern.
I have trying to chunk a simple pattern and accent the first note but I still can’t keep it going smoothly.
Any help is appreciated

I have filmed myself
This is my attempt at tremelo.

And this is my attempt at a four note pattern. This take is worse than my usual attempts. Might be something to do with playing early in the morning, thats me excuse anyway :slightly_frowning_face:

Look at the two videos yourself. Can you see that you’re clearly using two different techniques? It might well be that the second technique is quite inefficient and can’t go very fast. The last one does look a little suspect, from a stringhopping perspective. :stuck_out_tongue:

Maybe you can try to go between the fast tremolo and the four string pattern without stopping to try to trick your body into using the same technique. This is likely to sound like a trainwreck, but keep at it. See if you can clean up something fast and sloppy instead of speeding up something clean.

2 Likes

Its true what you say and I am aware of doing it, but am finding it hard to stop. If I start with the tremelo movement then add the pattern I immediately lose sync or go into a string hopping movement. I will keep trying and hopefully it will click.

1 Like

I second @lars’s comment! It’s basically two different players in the two videos :slight_smile: