Hardtail or Floating Trem, I'm torn

Hi Fellow Code Crackers!

A little back story, I have been playing guitar off an on for about 30 years. I stagnated on my technique early on and am now trying to catch up. I have always had hardtails, and so to kick off my personal guitar renaissance I bought a new Schecter C1 Platinum hardtail guitar. I really love the guitar but I have a small pinky and I thought that an Ibanez Wizard neck would suit me better.

Now, I have on order a used Ibanez RG5121 guitar in excellent condition. This is another hardtail. My problem is that I realize that even if I don’t have the skill (although I have the desire) to play like EVH or Steve Vai, I still really love 80s metal and some of the songs will require vibrato dives. So I thought about using a “Whammy Pedal”. Then I read that it’s “just not the same” so I broke down and ordered the RG5320c which is basically the same guitar but with a Lo-Pro Edge double locking trem. I intend on only keeping one guitar. I am going to sell the Schecter and return one of the RGs.

My worries about the hardtail include setup and maintenance but more importantly I do alot of double stop bends in my playing and I don’t want the stationary note to go out of tune. I have read about the “Tremmory” and think that that might be the answer, but seeing as I have the hardtail coming, should I just chose that and a whammy pedal and then return the brand new guitar with the fixed tremolo? Unfortunately I can only afford one guitar.

Any advice or suggestions are appreciated!

Thanks,
Aerith

Hi Aerith.

There’s a device you can install called the Tremol-no, which can lock a floating tremolo into a hardtail or dive-only mode. They’re not very expensive and it would allow you to use the floating vibrato when you want it, but to lock it down when you don’t so you can perform double stop bends.

3 Likes