Help me find the perfect pick?

Hey everyone. So I’ve been using two different Jazz 3 style picks for the past year that each have their strengths and weaknesses, but I’d like to find a pick that combines their strengths and eliminates their weaknesses. So far I haven’t found what I’m looking for, so I thought you guys might be the right people to ask for suggestions!

The pick I’ve been using for a few years now is the Dunlop 427PJP John Petrucci Jazz III. (picture)

I really like the shape and the tone of this pick, but the main thing I don’t like about it is the material. I find that it slips in my hand too easily, and after a long time of alternate picking without pause, it gradually starts to point towards to headstock.

So in an attempt to remedy this issue, I bought a more traditional Tortex style pick, the Dunlop Tortex Pitch Black Jazz III PICK 1.14MM. (picture, with other thicknesses included).

The Tortex material is great and completely solved the slipperiness issue for me, however the problem with this pick is that the edge isn’t beveled, which (in my opinion) makes the tone sound much worse on the wound strings. Sometimes I like the scratchy sound caused by the pointy flat edge, but it’s a bit too much. I also find that it just doesn’t feel quite as smooth for some reason.

So essentially, I’ve been looking for a combination of these two picks. A Jazz 3 with Tortex material (or something similar), and a beveled edge. I’m willing to test out different thicknesses, but it needs to be at least 1mm.

Some other picks I’ve tried are the Max-Grip Jazz 3’s, which despite the name, are even less grippy. I’ve also purchased these picks because, from the images, they look beveled. I was disappointed when they arrived and I found out that they are not beveled in the slightest.

So before I waste more money on plastic teardrops, does anyone have any suggestions?

Look no further. Petrucci Trinity is the best: