Help to improve TWPS

Hi all,

I have been practicing this part of Erotomania’s solo for many years and I have been stuck at this speed for a while now.

This is the normal speed version:

Slow-mo:

While I can do upward escape motion licks it has always been easier to play them with downward escape motions. I would like to play each 10 notes group like 4 DWPS+rotate pick motion+4 UWPS+rotate pick motion. But it feels more like 9 UWPS + double rotate pick motion, I say here double rotate cause I rotate the wrist to escape on an upstroke but rotate again to start back in an UWPS position (the first stroke is more neutral but I still feel like a loose time here).

Any help and/or advise to get here is greatly appreciated:

1 Like

Thanks for posting, this is one of my all-time favourite solos :slight_smile:

I moved this to the critique section if that’s ok. I’ll come back with some thoughts soon but in the meantime I’ll drop a link to a long discussion of mine on exactly this solo -hope you find it useful

Thanks Tommo. I have to say I spent a good time yesterday watching your transcription in Soundslice at 25% before posting my videos. Thing is I was unable to see when you are switching the escape motion. It is like Petrucci in the old video I linked to as well (the quality is very bad) the only visible thing to me is some sort of thumb movement when switching (I think) after ever 10 notes to start the next 10 notes group.

However at any speed of my playing the rotation movement is so evident that I have been thinking (specially after watching my slow-mo video) that my movements while in essence correct are just gigantic.

Timing for me (as you said in your analysis) is also an issue for me even at lower speeds because my rotation escape movement takes longer and then I need to restart my usual picking motion (see below)