How do you use this site effectively?

Hello everyone.

I’m new to this site and wondering how to use it most effectively? First a bit about myself:

I’ve been playing guitar for about 25 years. I’ve toured, recorded, even taught for several years. While I consider myself a fairly advanced rhythm guitarist, I’ve decided lately I want to practice my lead playing a bit more methodically. I heard good things about the Cracking The Code method, so I thought I’d give it a try.

So my question:

Is there a recommended order to go in? I see the pick slanting module, volcano, antigravity, etc… Are these meant to be completed in any order? Or is there some order that makes more sense pedagogically?

Furthermore, when watching a video in a given chapter, do you play through all the tabbed clips and try to master them before moving on?

I’m sure there’s no one right way, just curious how folks more experienced with this site get the most from it.

Thanks!

Ian

5 Likes

Interested in this as well! @ianmgull I don’t have an answer for you myself, but welcome. Do you have any vids or links to your stuff? Cheers! jz

1 Like

Hey @ianmgull, welcome! Generally going through the Pickslanting Primer first is the advised method. The seminars like Anti Gravity or Cascade (while amazing!!!) may not make sense if you don’t have a fundamental grasp of what’s required to effectively change strings and pick efficiently. The primer covers it all from the ground up. You’ll learn your options for grip, what main joints are responsible to move your pick (and their implications, regarding whether you can use that motion to change strings after an upstroke or downstroke).

I know Troy goes to great lengths to lay things out in the order they make sense. I’ve seen many directed here to start with if you’re eager to just jump in and not necessarily do things in order: