I'm Giving It Six Months, Then I Give Up Forever

I know the title sounds dramatic, but let me explain.

I’m in my 40s and have been playing guitar since I was 12. I’ve never been a good alternate picker despite many periods of dedicated focus toward improving it. When I was in my teens I was a good rhythm guitar player and did lots of fast legato stuff and sweep picking, felt like I was a good guitarist, and was kind of blissfully unaware that my picking was really holding me back. Then in my 20s I wanted to play Yngwie and Paul Gilbert licks, and would spend months at a time banging my head against the wall with a metronome just not being able to break through the plateau. Then I’d give up, go back to playing Metallica songs, and then start the whole thing over again a year later. I made no real progress for many years.

In my late 30s I reached a point where I got comfortable with the fact that I’m never going to be PG or Yngwie, and was OK with it. I’m just going to focus on what I can do well, and try not to dwell on what I can’t. I was having fun playing again, learned a bunch of songs that I had considered too easy or beneath me, filled some gaps in my knowledge, even did some blues jam type stuff. I was in a good place with my playing.

Last fall, I decided it was time for some dedicated time working on my chops and I started a 100 day plan practicing 4 different things for 15 minutes a day each. I definitely made improvement in the areas I was working on and felt good about my playing overall. It was the first time I really felt like I got better in well over a decade.