In desperate need of direction

Hey,

Hope you all are doing well today, since a couple of weeks i’m not really.
The reason why is, since i’m done with playing covers i came to realize i still know nothing much after all these years. The problem is i’ve already dabbled in everything that’s guitar related, but never really kept at it until it was second nature or knew the theory of it. Once i could pull it off i was kind of satisfied, but i never learnt to use the licks or solo’s in my own way, or even think about what I do.

Some time ago i started learning the basics from a book again…starting from all 5 pentatonic and major positions, but i’ve been here a thousand times before. Learning something isn’t the problem , but applying it in some original way that doesn’t sound like an exercise is. Once i learned a block, it’s just that, a block that can be played up and down. Once i shift my position, it’s almost like i don’t see anything but the block i’m in for example.

A couple of months ago i tried taking private lessons from a teacher via skype, he provided me with a self made course where you can find everything from positions modes ect, but it came down to just being stuff you had to remember with no context, so i became bored very fast so i ended up quitting. I guess this course of his would be ideal for people who already know this stuff but just need a refresher or something, i don’t know.

All of a sudden classical guitar caught my ears attention. it’s something i’ve never done before and i would really like to learn some songs…but knowing myself it will boil down to playing some covers without knowing what i’m doing. i’ve already been there and i’m tired of that, so yeah, maybe i just have to start all over and pretend like i never touched a guitar before, in this new classical genre, but where do I start?