Just joined today and I’m overwhelmed lol

• How many years have you been playing?
    Been playing 40 years
  • What musical genres are you interested in?
    Rock, blues and Jazz
  • Particular things you’re excited to learn / talk about here?

How have you gone about learning guitar so far?

• Self-taught? Regular lessons with a teacher? Both?
  • Have you spent much time on technique before finding our stuff?
  • What Cracking the Code material have you watched?
  • Can you comfortably play a scale? At roughly what speed?
  • Any particular things you find yourself stuck on?

Feel free to modify this template as you like, and delete any extra default text before posting. Thanks!
Are there actual exercises, this is like information overload
Ken

1 Like

Hey there! There’s tons of content in CtC, I don’t think you need to touch on all of it in order to find something that you dig and find beneficial!

Heya! Like @Pepepicks66 said, you don’t need to go through everything, not immediately. The new Testing Your Motions chapter is a good place to start with hands-on stuff, but you’ll probably want to then go back and read up on the Getting Started chapter too.

The idea is not so much about any particular exercises. You can use any phrases you already know or want to be able to play. Watch the Pickslanting Primer videos, they explain this approach in-depth, but to sum it up:

I think the usual progression is that first you try get a fast, relaxed, smooth tremolo happening on just a single note. Use any motion, pick grip and arm setup that feels fast and easy to do pretty much immediately. Use the videos, experiment a lot and change your form if something feels awkward, don’t try to force any particular motion. Don’t worry about any particular tempo, just that it’s moderately fast - something above 150-160 bpm 16th notes.