Mainly neutral wrist in DWPS?

I am new here, but I have been playing for many years. I just started my year membership! I have been working at the POPTART lick with DWPS but just on acoustic gtr lately. I will pull the electric very soon.

So I haven’t really played much malmsteen, in my guitar life. I learned the interlude on I’ll See The Light back in the 80s. Never played consistently, because I focused more on my left hand accuracy as new player. Then I got DEEP into Satriani, and legato and EVH -hammer on, pull-off, economy picking, tapping)… I finally got SICK of only playing consistently well on my rig! As soon got on an acoustic or someone else’s vintage amp (3 12ax7’s!) I couldn’t tap or do legato very well… I eventually started picking a lot more… I became naturally drawn inside picking, especially since I was holding the pick with barely the tip being exposed. This works well with full-size picks and shreddin’ on acoustic with max volume I think…

These type of posts are tedious :frowning: but I am dedicated to getting better and better.

Cracking code, has been a reshuffling for me, which uncomfortable, but necessary. I have been trying the jazz III XL and holding the pick more like Troy ( I have thread detailing that with photos).

So, since I am just working on DWPS right, and the poptart lick focusing high speeds… nearly to tempo on Troy’s example vid… but my acoustic strings on quite high compared electric so I think that is the main hindrance. Also the acoustic being much fatter than electric! With fast picking in the assumed position: I place my palm across the bridge, and let it fall to the right pick angle, still exposing wrist supination, I find as I descend (higher to lower strings) my wrist is getting more extended (looks like extreme anchoring) to maintain the pick angle. Since I cropped these photos, you can really get a sense of the wrist supination. Photos are shown in succession while descending: