Motivation tips

Hello all!

So I’m at a bit of a crossroads. My current life as a father and husband has me working 40-50 hours a work. I work as a jack of all trades and build and service rental buildings.

I am usually very tired but I’m always motivated come my little ones bedtime to go play my guitar for an hour or two. That’s what my wife and I have agreed is a fair amount of time before we spend our time together. I play everyday as a general. Lately however, I finished this song I’d had percolating for four years, I’ve hit what seemed unattainable goals on the guitar technique wisethat I’m kind of afraid to try again for fear I won’t be able to do them now. I’ve taken two nights off this week and every other night has been out of habit, not desire.

Basically, I don’t know what to do. Im happy with my technique, I don’t have a song I’m working on, my passion for guitar is more out of principal than joy. I’m not even in a rut per se… I’m just… not that into it?

I don’t want to stop playing, it’s my life passion. I don’t want to lose my ability after working so hard post botulism to get to a level ive never been at but I’m just in a weird purgatory of not knowing what to do. It’s a first for me in my 28 years on earth. Ever since I’ve had a guitar in my hands ive always had some goal in mind. Some skill to work on, some song to learn or write.

This last song was just so “perfect” it really feels like my swan song. I just don’t know where to go from here. Hell, I’m actually scared to. What if this is as good as it gets? Not a fan of negative thinking, I’m sure there’s more out there. Just writing all my thoughts down…

Has anyone had experience with this?

Just watched a sweet Jeff Beck performance on YouTube… motivation and inspiration but most of all excitement achieved!! Lol

1 Like