My picking technique - UWPS with a downward slant?

EDIT: much better video down at post 12!

After I started watching the Cracking the Code videos, I took one look at my hand position and decided I was a downward pickslanter - but I always found UWPS licks FAR easier to play than DWPS. In fact things like fast pentatonics have always been totally impossible for me. So what I think is going on is that my pick is still moving away from the body of the guitar on the downstroke even when it’s slanted downwards, so it’s not moving perpendicular to the pickslant, but more of a diagonal motion. (I think - I’m not that good at analysing my own technique).

Here’s a quick video, really sorry about the crappy quality, and about how quiet it is, I couldn’t figure out how to increase the volume, so please crank the volume up for this. There’s some UWPS sextuplets at 130bpm (16ths at 195bpm) plus some questionable sweepy nonsense at the end for some reason. When I play these UWPS runs I can barely feel the string changes. Actually watching back now I think the pickslant isn’t that far downward when at speed, it may be more neutral than I thought.

I really want to master DWPS but it’s been really difficult, it doesn’t seem to be as easy as changing my hand position because it feels like it’s already mostly in the DWPS position.
For example I would love to be able to play those insane Rhoads-style pentatonic licks from the Teemu interview, or Eric Johnson style patterns. (Then the plan is to eventually tackle two-way pickslanting, armed with both DWPS and UWPS…)
I can do the motion slowly but when I start increasing the speed it reverts back to this odd UWPS motion. Am I doomed? Do I have no choice but to completely reprogram my picking motion from scratch?

Any critique/advice at all is totally welcome. Be brutal :slight_smile:

5 Likes

Great playing! Your setup looks Teemu-like, including the supinated forearm position and the finger motion component. Similar sound too.