Neanderthal From SoCal:

Greetings,

I’m a self-taught player (I only took 3 guitar lessons in my life and they only served to confuse me) who started his musical career in a Central California bar band in 1980 at age 15 earning $125/week playing covers. I started playing seriously at 14 and almost all of my work involved playing covers for hire. I have supported myself in music since then, working in several live bands and in the recording studio.

My real catalyst for pursuing the guitar came in 1978 when my Mom was recording an album with her friend’s band (Buck Owens’ Buckaroos) in Bakersfield. Although I was not really into C&W music, I was into guitar playing and this kind of catapulted me into pushing myself to get better as fast as possible and join a band.

Currently, I am working with several SoCal bands. both live and in the studio. So, 100% of my income is generated by working in the music industry,

My playing is very rudimentary. I have always referred to myself as a Neanderthal, because I play in a very uneducated fashion. I’ve been stuck in the pentatonic box for about 40 years now and I feel it is time to break out.

Only recently have I wanted to try and break out of my mold and try and learn some of the faster neo classical things, and I have great admiration for the fluidity of many of YJM’s compositions. But to be honest, I really seem to struggle with getting my hand synchronization and I seem to instinctively revert to tremolo picking, so much work is needed.

Wishing you all the best,

• Rob

2 Likes

Another really bad habit is my pick holding. Back in the 1980’s I bought one of the very first Ibanez DT-555’s (triple pickup Destroyer) and I began to play with the large, rounded edge of the pick to keep from striking the middle pickup. I constantly revert back to this and have to consciously change my grip repeatedly after 30+ years of doing this.