Newbie - concrete boots

Newbie here. Chris, based in Zurich, Switzerland. I’ve been playing for 8 years, but just bought the pickslanting primer because of obvious speed limit issues. I clearly have issues with mechanics - for instance, i often here the pick tip bashing the middle pickup, which seems like a big string hopping indicator.

A couple of early issues.

• I really struggle with the usx method. Feels weird. Dsx by contrast feels good.
  • i wouldn’t worry too much about that, but. If i understand correctly, dsx ONLY (or usx ONLY for that matter) means you must play licks with an even number of picks per string. So for instance, the common 3 note per string licks you find in metal don’t work. So i find I’m second guessing a lot of stuff i thought i could play.

Basically, I feel like I’m rebuilding my picking technique from the ground up. Not easy after all these years.

Anyway, those are my first reflections. Persevering. Happy playing all.

1 Like

Hi there and welcome!

What about lowering your middle pickup? I think Al di Meola, Paul Gilbert, Andy James, etc. would argue about DSX being useless. And I’d argue with you too as I’m doomed to use DSX as well :sweat_smile:

Thanks to @gabrielthorn for kindly correcting me, I updated accordingly!!

With USX: If you are ascending from thicker to thinner strings, you can economy pick and pluck every note with no thought or problem. However, if you are descending from thinner to thicker strings, then it is true that you might potentially HO/PO one note to make the number of picked stokes become even. It’s not a big deal because people like Yngwie sound pretty metal to me, but naturally your needs might be different than his!

With DSX: If you are descending, you can economy pick and pluck every note with no thought or problem. However, if you are ascending, then it is true that you might potentially HO/PO one note to make the number of picked strokes become even.