Question about tube amp impedances

Tube amp & electronics newbie here. Does a tube amp’s output impedance in itself have any effect on the sound, or on how hard the amp is working etc? Like, does 16 ohm amp + 16 ohm cab sound any different than 8 ohm amp + 8 ohm cab? Does the amp work any harder at higher impedance values? Any benefit to choosing 8 over 16, or the other way around?

I have been meaning to watch this for ages, but it may help…

1 Like

I can’t answer the nuances re: different ratings of matched amplifier and load, but I’ll give a reminder of why matching is important:

The amplifier is designed with the expectation that a load with a certain impedance will get attached to it. The amplifier applies a particular voltage to the load, and the amount of current that will flow will be inversely proportional to the impedance of the load.

If the impedance of the load is lower than what the amplifier is designed for, more current will flow through the amplifier than it was designed for, and the amplifier will likely be damaged.

If the impedance of the load is higher than what the amplifier is designed for, less current will flow through the amplifier than expected, but there will be no harm to the amplifier. All other things being equal, in the case where the impedance of the load is higher than expected, the sound from the speakers will be quieter than through speakers whose impedance matches the impedance of the amplifier. **** EDIT: This does NOT mean it’s safe to operate the amp with no load connected at all, it just means it’s safe to have a load with a higher impedance rating than the amplifier. ****

Sometimes novices will make the mistake of attaching lower impedance speakers to the amplifier, because they want them to sound louder, but the amplifier will end up getting damaged.

3 Likes

Good explanation @Frylock, thanks!