Recording gear - noob needs help!

I’m going to be picking up a Captor X for silent practice and I’d like to start composing and recording music. However, I am way behind the curve with regards to how to go about it - last time I recorded anything was on a Fostex 16 track recorder! Other than a PC with decent power and RAM, what is the minimum I need to start? I am looking to compose with virtual instruments via a midi keyboard for synth/orchestral stuff, guitars are likely to be through the captor vitual cab/IR route, but would like the option of reamping and recording vocals through a mic.
Due to finances, I’m having to start simple and build up the rig piece by piece, but didn’t want to make an error early on and have to replace hardware because of ignorance. With this in mind, my priority list is as follows:
Recording guitar/bass
Drum tracking
Virtual instruments
Reamping
Vocals

Any guidance is welcome, I’m a noob!

1 Like

Hey,

I have a pretty reasonable home studio. I can certainly help a little anyways.

First off what kind of music are you trying to record? Rock, electronic, pop etc? Your set up may depend on that.

I don’t know much about the Captor X except that it’s a load box. Does it double as an audio interface? If not, you’ll probably need some kind of audio interface for your PC.

Generally speaking the focusrite boxes are a decent value. If you want to go simple, I’d go with the 2i2 or the 2i4. If you need more inputs you can certainly go bigger.

You should also select the DAW that you’re working in. I use Reaper - it’s inexpensive and pretty powerful.

For drums, it really depends on what you’re trying to do. I use Superior Drummer 3 - it’s an excellent VST that works well within most DAWs. It’s a little spendy. There are other drum sims that you can use too. EZ drummer is a barebones version of Superior Drummer. Someone may be able to chime in with other examples.