Song X - instrumental rough recording

Hi. I wanted to share a song I have been working on. It’s pretty cheesy and a bit repetitive, but I had fun putting everything together. This is not a professionally done recording. It is something I did at home. I recorded both guitar tracks, played bass with a pick, used some drum loops from EZ drummer, and programmed in a synth part at the end.

Song Structure

Intro
Verse
Pre-chorus
Chorus
Verse 2
Pre-chorus
Chorus
Outro solo

I feel like the structure of this tune is one of its stronger qualities. It’s basic but it’s a solid starting point I feel like. What do you think I could do to improve this piece? Some ideas I have are to make each verse like a mini solo and then keep the longer solo at the end of the song. Also maybe add another layer to one of the choruses so it’s not so much of the same thing for each one.

Any advice for learning how to program drums? I have very little experience playing drums. What would be a good way to develop the skill of programming drums?

Overall, I am looking for general critiques on this song. I have never put everything together as a solo artist before, so a lot of this is new to me. If you listened to this song, I would like to thank you for your time.

3 Likes

Well, what’s the end goal and how much time do you have? Better yet, what is your least favorite aspect of it?

If you’re going for a certain style, I would listen to bands in that genre and really pay attention to the drums, and try to learn as much as you can as to how the drums are played. Sounds like a non-answer, but you really need to get a feel for how the drums are played and what’s possible from a technique perspective, as well as personal taste.

1 Like