Structuring practice

Hello everyone, as a student I am finding it difficult to practice for more than 30 minutes to at most an hour every other day sometimes every day. When I do get the practice time in however, I don’t know how to structure it. I enjoy players like Mateus Asato and Beau Diakowicz so I’ve been throwing myself into book and videos on jazz theory and jazz guitar. I’m hoping to set a routine of posting videos here for C&C on the weekends too. Any advice or examples of personal practice routines from teachers or anyone at all are welcome!
Edit: I’ve also been getting interested in gypsy jazz!

This depends on what it is you’re trying to learn. Mechanical things? What kind of mechanical things? Fretboard mapping? Songwriting? There really isn’t a single thing called “practice”, and the techniques you’d use to work on them are very different.

However one thing I would say is that you don’t need huge amounts of time. Learning in bite-size chunks of time can be very natural, and there’s good evidence to suggest that marathon length practice isn’t as effective. It’s also a good way to avoid injury.

Thanks for the response Troy,

I’m trying to work on my picking accuracy, reading, and understanding how to use triads and scales to solo over chord changes. Through this forum I’m wanting to improve picking accuracy. Like I said I will post videos when I can. But, for right now whenever I try to play a fast run it feels very sloppy and almost like I am forcing my hand to pick these notes instead of it understanding what needs to happen. I use mostly DWPS and econ/sweeping, but I am also open to working on all other techniques. Should I start by just properly sitting down with a metronome and going glacially slow and building tempo for as much accuracy as I can? And should I go back to strict alternate picking until I feel like I completely understand it?

1 Like