Struggling with 1WPS

in short, I’m struggling to practice & implement material from the Pickslanting Primer.

my background is that I’m 31 years old, and I’ve been a string jumper for a long time for at least a decade (if not nearly two decades). it’s uncanny how much of my playing I heard immediately in the string jumping example from the Pickslanting Primer. seriously, give me any '80s King Crimson odd-time arpeggio and I’ll string jump the shit out of it for you (within reasonable tempos).

given my love for odd fretboard patterns like you find in King Crimson’s “Discipline”, I had half a mind to immediately start working on learning two-way pickslanting.

but, I decided to start with one-way pickslanting, so as to take things step-by-step and not try to take on too much all at once.

having tested myself as suggested in the Pickslanting Primer, it seems pretty clear that my primary motion is wrist motion. however, it’s a little harder to tell which way I might prefer to pickslant.

downward pickslanting is comfortable, because I like to start with downstrokes, and I can do the motions reasonably fast. my main struggle with downward pickslanting is that I can’t seem to figure out how to do the USX at high speeds. instead, at high speed I revert to this awful habit where I rest stroke on both adjacent strings, and my escape is trapped on both sides. another problem I have with downward pickslanting is that the pick just doesn’t feel stable between my fingers, unless I squeeze it tight - I seriously can’t imagine how Mike Stern seems to manage his pick flopping around so easy.