Technique Feedback

Hi everyone!

Long time lurker on the site and I just recently signed up and I’m loving all the content and advice that’s on the site and in the forums. I’ve been playing for about 15 years and my main musical interest is metal. Most of the bands/songs that I enjoy and want to play have some really serious tremolo picking that is intensely fast (for me at least).

It’s a little embarrassing for me to admit but tremolo on a single string is very difficult for me. I’ve studied the pick slanting primer up and down and while I’ve gained some very valuable information, I’m still struggling with developing my technique.

I’m really trying to pick with my wrist but my whole arm seems to always tense up. I’ve tried the recommendation within the primer to mix up my grip, supination, etc and still feel like I’m not making much progress. No matter how hard I try and stay relaxed my whole motion feels very forced.

I know that progress takes time but I routinely put in 2+ hours of practice at least 5x a week. After an hour or so I can get in the zone sometimes and blaze through some phrases but the next day or later on it feels like I’m starting fresh. (This is what concerns me about my technique is that it literally feels like I’m starting over the next day after really feeling like I got it the day before.)

There’s some insanely good players on this forum so any feedback or recommendation is most welcome!

Full Speed

Slow-mo

I also seem to have a very difficult time on the high E string as seen below:

Thank you!

2 Likes

Hello and welcome! One thing I’d try is doing rest strokes, or at least wider pickstrokes in general. Then it’s easier to see what the motion is actually like, and if it actually makes escapes. For example, on the G string, I can see your downstrokes aren’t always pushing through to the other side of the string before your upstroke already begins. There’s a good section on rest strokes in this video:

2 Likes