The First Shred Records You Bought

What were a few of the first real shred type albums you bought? Try to remember if you bought them on record, cassette, or CD.

I don’t remember the particular order but I bought these records:

Yngwie Malmsteen’s Rising Force
Racer X Street Lethal
Vinnie Moore Mind’s Eye
Steeler

1 Like

the first real “shred” I heard was when I was almost 17 (woulda been 1984) and my mom was out of town and some friends came over with some beer and they brought some records over. I heard VH 1 and it blew my mind. I heard Eruption and had no idea what it was lol. We all loved the intro to Aint Talkin 'Bout Love. That was 4 years before I started playing guitar. I was one of those types that thought id never be able to play guitar and that it was for others but not me.

So I was a big VH fan and I thought that was what good music was. I got my first guitar in '88 when I was 20. In those days you could get records, CDs, or cassettes. I almost always got cassettes so I could play them in the car and so I could make compilation cassettes

In either late 86 or 87 a friend of mine told me to listen to this CD of some supposed great guitar player. I had never heard of the dude and the music was all weird sounding. Sounded like some kind of opera. It was Yngwie Malmsteen Trilogy lol. I wasnt quite ready for it yet

I started buying guitar magazines maybe in dec 87 then bought my first guitar in jan 88. Young folks gotta remember this was WAAAAAAYYYY before the internet lol. That magazine was IT as far as guitar info. So I would usually buy whatever I saw mentioned a lot in the mags and usually it was when they had tab for a song or reviewed a record

not sure the exact order but these are the actual shred albums I had back then:
Satriani Surfing with the Alien CD. one of the first guitar CDs I got. blew my mind
Yngwie M Rising Force CD
Racer X Street Lethal CD
Vinnie Moore Time Odyssey cassette, player it until all the writing wore off the cassette