Theory you have accessible instantly

Hi guys,

I´m wondering how much theory knowledge you have right here on the spot and can also use.
There is a lot of stuff around, but what is actual, practical, must have knowledge for an improvising rock guitarist?

• Accidentals in all major and minor keys and the corresponding sharp and flat notes and the chords (triads, seventh, possible extensions) occuring in all those keys
  • Intervals and Interval structures of various scales, modes, etc.
  • Chord notes for triads, seventh and extensions in all keys
  • Finding all that stuff on the fretboard and being able to apply it in various contexts

I often wonder how does anyone keep all this (and more) in mind, fresh, accessible and applicable?

1 Like

This is how Martin does it, and I suspect, how all great improvisers do it:

I have some background in theory… hypothetically. When I was a kid I played a piano and I was taught some stuff, but I don’t remember much anything of it ))
And I still don’t know what notes I play on my guitar. Well, I know some common notes, like E,F,G,A,C,D on first 3 frets but that’s all. Last days I became interested in jazz, so now I’m trying to learn how to call these strange chords that I “invented” earlier. It is still hard for me to find root of chord but at least I know that it’s, for example, dominant 7, or 6/9, or 13 and so on.
So, for me theory is descriptive mainly. I don’t use it to create or play music, instead I used it to describe what I’m playing.

Thank you Troy! So to answer the question of what theoretical background one actually needs to be able to apply this process. is: A shitload!!! LOL
He always knows all the notes in each chord, knows the notes in the scales he plays over them, each interval, how they relate to each chord, intense fretboard knowledge! How does one keep all this amount of info in one´s head (and be able to apply this info on the spot)?