Using Cracking the Code as an experiment

Hello, everyone! I am about to do one of the most embarrassing things I have done in my life (this will be a little long, so I apologize in advance).

A confession: I am a HORRIBLE electric guitar player. No… Let me take that back. I’m not even a guitar player to begin with. Funny thing is, this doesn’t mean that I’m a zero when it comes to music. Quite the opposite. I graduated from a music school and have worked in music professionally for almost 15 years. But not on guitar. I am a ZERO on guitar.

MANY years ago, some friends in my block wanted to put a band together, but they didn’t have anyone to play the bass. Not wanting to miss on the opportunity, I volunteered to be the bass player, even though I didn’t know what a bass was. I also didn’t know that my dad happened to play some bass, so by my request he gave me my first lesson, after which I was immediately hooked. I practiced day and night, sometimes until the break of dawn, and after a while I became pretty good at it. (Alas, the band never happened because I was the only one who dedicated himself to learning and practicing.)

Then, one day a friend of mine stopped by with and handed me 2 cassette tapes, swearing that this was like nothing I had heard of. One tape had a slip with what looked like the Silver Surfer from Marvel comics, and said “Surfing with The Alien”. The other didn’t have a cover. It was a TDK tape with something handwritten on the label: “Yngwie – Rising Force”. I had never heard of either. Then I hit play… and it was all over for me.