Working on my alternate picking -- help?

Hey guys. Apologies if I did this wrong regarding the angle etc. It was difficult and I’ll try again if need be.

Something about my mechanic just feels “wrong” and has for a while. I’m not exactly sure what it is. I’ve tried a few different things but nothing really feels right.

In this vid I’m trying tremolo picking, 3nps and 2nps pentatonic things a few different times.

oh, and I’m going pretty balls out here. Just about as fast as I can.

Hey there! Thanks for posting. I’m not a pro, but a couple of observations and requests.

• In spots it looks like it might feel pretty good, e.g. around the 17s and 52 s, there’s a very short segment of tremolo that looks good to me, good sound, swift picking. So that’s great :slight_smile:
  • I’d like to request that you record a video of just single-note tremolo, on one or more strings. You can repeat the rhythms that you’re doing (e.g. 8th notes for a while, then 16ths for a few beats, etc). The reason: your fretting hand looks light it might be jumping around, throwing off your timing, and perhaps causing some tension somewhere – at least it will definitely impact your picking.
  • also, confining the demos to a single string is good, b/c shifting strings creates its own set of interesting problems.
  • you’re sometimes picking some notes very hard, is that intentional, or an accident? I suspect the former, just checking.
  • based on the amount of heel-of-palm deformation, it appears that you’re really pushing your hand into the guitar. Is that correct?

Hm, re “Something about my mechanic just feels “wrong”” – and you’re not sure … could it be:

• too much force needed for picking
  • feeling of instability in picking arm
  • pick not being consistent
  • pick getting caught
  • lots of tension

Any of those, a combo? Perhaps a different tack might be fruitful: you think it feels “wrong”, what would “right” feel like?

1 Like

Thanks for the reply @jzohrab!