Capped for years at 100 bpm 16th notes

Hello all.

I’ve been playing for about 11 years, and that’s 11 years sucking at picking. I’m pretty much desperate to know what the hell I am doing wrong. I’ve experimented different pick angles, different hand position and angles, more forearm rotation vs more wrist, posture, etc, makes little difference. Ive been capped at about 100 bpm 16th notes for years.

I always feel a lot of tension in my arm. There have been times, however, when I could relax my arm in such a manner that my picking speed seemed to explode for a fraction of a second. Ive been trying to figure out how to feel that again, but it’s very rare. I don’t really know how to do that on command. I know I can do that, because I’ve done it, but I don’t know how. I dont know what happened, beyond that feeling of relaxation.

Ive filmed these two videos, but I dont know if its enough or if its well filmed for anyone to help me figure it out.

Thank you in advance.

First time post, so please don’t consider me an expert…
My opinion… Try turning your hand so your palm is a bit more upward and your escape is on the upstroke. Also, plant your last two or three fingers on the body to give you stationary point in turn giving the rest of your hand pivot point.

Hey @Mr_Samsa,

Yep, before you even think about switching picking technique etc, you’ll likely need to get that under control. At least you’re aware of it – some people have this so unconsciously ingrained they’re not even aware of how tense they are.

I had this problem and managed to become more in control of it, though it’s still lurking! You likely have this baked in as part of your “mental model” of what playing is all about – I know I did. I actually used to tense up immediately when I touched the guitar.