You have one hour only, who would you pick for a teacher?

I was wondering the other day if I could get a guitar lesson from anyone in the world but it is only
one hour long, who would I pick…

How about you guys? you have your dream teacher for one hour only…Go!

3 Likes

Andres Segovia
accordingtorulesthispostmusthaveatleast20characters

Vinnie Moore!

But only after he spent a day with Troy to catch up on the CTC terminology.

Also I would probably spend the hour crying because I am getting only one hour.

3 Likes

Joe Stump!

I’d get him to show me the awesome Shred Odyssey 2000.

2 Likes

Alex Hutchings. A perfect match of technique and musicality.

Just signed up for a lesson from Rick Graham so we will see how it is!

4 Likes

I would definitely like to see what you get from this. Especially since I am subscriber of his channel.

good choice, too bad he is no longer with us.

I studied with a classical guitar teacher who had himself studied with Segovia, as well as received a scholarship to study with Christopher Parkening. From what he told me, lessons with the old man were some of the most difficult of his life. I got the impression that they weren’t enjoyable experiences, either. He was a notorious taskmaster and not patient with his students at all.

Personally, I’d like to have my first teacher available again. He got out of teaching a year or so after I started with him and felt like I missed out a lot after he gave it up. I don’t think I was ever that focused again.

That being said, I’d say Joe Satriani most definitely.

The thing about teachers, just like coaches, the ones whose abilities came naturally rarely if ever make good instructors. The great teachers and coaches are not the naturally gifted individuals at all, but those who had to fight and struggle to understand and develop their craft.

7 Likes

I think you are onto something there. That is the not the first time i’ve heard this.

1 Like