Do you even need a teacher?

There are two different points of view that i’ve encoutered. The first one is more academic and it says, that a good teacher is one of the main things to become a great musician. It almost claims, that without a teacher you will not be able to get any significant results. And the second point is completely oposite and it’s that if you have talent and you put in the effort, than you don’t even need a teacher. So, do you think teacher is important, or you can get away with being self taught and still be great? Hope my English is good enough :slight_smile:

I think if we need to ask ourselves if we need a teacher the answer is obvious lol!

There are a very small number of musicians who reach amazing levels without the aid of a teacher. Most of us aren’t so lucky though. Plus, even the ultra gifted don’t know everything and would benefit from someone else’s feedback.

2 Likes

Age, skill level, goals or level of commitment have a huge impact of course. In the beginning of learning, I would say yes. But I think an interesting extension to your question could be, what types of personalities benefit greatly from teachers/mentors/idols and exactly what role does the teacher play there.

I got my first theory teaching and general musical coaching when about 17-18 years old from a friend who was much further along in music theory. He really wanted to teach us, and being the eldest of our group and a sort of a badass big brother figure with an actual band, he got us very hyped up about getting better. It was actually cool to be learning theory with him. He taught and quizzed us constantly and made sure we knew the basic stuff better than the other kids around us. It gave us a good start and made us a bit proud of ourselves, too.