How to get faster, when you are not slow anymore

It’s boring Friday and I’m mentally exhausted after my first baby steps with the Stream of consciousness solo, and decided to raise the question: how do you get faster when you are not slow anymore? Recently I made quite a big jump in terms of speed but it was like a rapid transition, it literally happened in a few days. Playing fast doesn’t seem like an impossible goal anymore but when I started learning a few Dream Theater solos, I’ve realised there’s still ~10-15 bpm missing. How does one tackle this challenge to get those final bpms done and make that final jump? Any kind of advice, suggestion is appreciated.

3 Likes

Our latest “official” advice is to take the motion tests in this section, and see how they compare to the speed of your guitar playing:

If you find that in one of the tests you are much faster than you are on guitar, the suggestion is to try and figure out how to reproduce a similar motion with pick & guitar. Not easy for sure — but neither is the Stream of Consciousness solo :smiley:

Edit: another method that I really like to to explore higher speeds by mixing pick & legato. Sometimes the obsession with picking every note is limiting. But don’t take my word for it :slight_smile:

1 Like

I did this in February when started my neverending thread :smiley: All of these motions were much faster than my current speed. My fastest motion is a kind of forearm rotation similar to Van Halen’s BUT I could never ever pick like that on the guitar.

Edit: I also don’t want to change to USX (for now!! :smiley: )

1 Like

Hi @gabrielthorn. I haven’t watched all your videos, but what I’ve seen/heard sure sounds fast to me :slight_smile: