I've lost my love for guitar(?) Help

I’ve been very inactive recently, even though things in life are super slow due to Covid.

Since I got my Bachelor, it’s like I lost my love for guitar playing. Before getting my degree I was looking forward to my graduation day, because this meant that I can finally play a lot more.

Instead of that, I really feel like giving up, mostly because I feel totally unispired and disheartened over my present level. Has anyone ever felt like that? What did you do?

I haven’t really played since February-March, so I don’t think it’s a matter of taking a break.

Sucks. I’ve felt like that after not being able to play alot for long periods. Some that always keeps me inspired on guitar oddly enough is teaching myself another instrument. Right now I spend my evenings moving basic chords around the piano and getting lost in fretless Bass grooves…it’s really unstructured. In the mornings before work I shred on guitar…and seem to carry new ideas forward from the other instruments even though I’m mainly focused on baking in my picking.

Yeah it really sucks, because it’s probably the last time in my life that I have the time to really focus on guitar and I just can’t bring myself to do it. Maybe I’m expecting too much from me and makes guitar not fun anymore.

Yea, I hear that. It’s a scary place but in my experience it’ll pass. I didn’t play much when I had three kiddies in diapers and no one was sleeping. Guitars on the wall taunting me…I was a little ashamed to pick it up and face how rusty I was. Getting back into it (in hindsight) I took an exposure therapy approach - commit to 5 minutes a day…no expectations…just feel the instrument again without pressure. Eventually the calouses came back and I got back on the horse. I feel like I’m 15 again, always distracted by playing.

3 Likes

You say you’re disheartened over you current level… why? Do you believe you should be more advanced? Can you play any music you enjoy?