My guide to playing cascading pentatonics with DSX motion

I hope a little bit of self promotion is accepted here. I’ve done a detailed explaination of how to translate EJ type lines to DSX using a downstroke escape motion. 24 tabbed excercises included. Any kind of feedback is welcome!

21 Likes

Started watching it right now. Would be nice to have the tabs as pdf or Guitar Pro file.

1 Like

Wow, great video and awesome playing!

3 Likes

Really helpful. Super clear explanations and looks very professional.

2 Likes

Where’s the wig? I want to see the wig!

There we go! Did you abandon the USX for the ej stuff?

Not really, I’m still trying to learn USX. I’ve been doing the DSX version for 10 years or more and I thought such video would be helpful for other DSX players.

4 Likes

Well part of me thinks the majority of people who innately gravitated towards one or the other, did so as a byproduct of how they muted the strings. I think the chief concern was the muting, the USX, and DSX was just a biproduct and came along for the ride. For example depending on what part of the hand used, if at all, kind of forces one or the other. using more of the side of the hand to mute strings (like a karate chop) almost always forces a natural downward pick slant, while using the fleshier parts closer to the inside results in a more natural neutral to upwards slant.

1 Like

Yeah most likely. I am pretty certain this had something to do with my DSX. I played pretty high gain stuff for years and the only way I could play leads without all the noise from the bass strings was to pronate and dampen them with the fleshy part of my thumb/palm region.